Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Episode #26 - The Day the Sun Went Out

1. Song: Intro , Artist: Nachtmystium , Album: Demise (Autopsy Kitchen)
2. Song: Double Dare , Artist: Bauhaus , Album: 1979-83 Vol. 1 (Beggars Banquet)
  • Excellent comp of Bauhaus' hits from the aforementioned period, featuring "Stigmata Martyr" (a track later covered by San Diego hardcore group Angel Hair, which is played in Episode #18), "Bela Lugosi's Dead", "In the Flat Field", and "The Passion of Lovers", among others.

3. Song: Careful With That Axe, Eugene , Artist: Pink Floyd , Album: Ummagumma (Capitol)
4. Song: Ice On Water , Artist: Urdog , Album: Garden of Bones (Secret Eye)

  • Now defunct Providence psych band. Drummer and vocalist Erin Rosenthal recently contributed vocals to some of Kites' newest album Peace Trials.

5. Song: Black Ships In Their Harbours , Artist: Current 93 , Album: Black Ships Ate the Sky (Durtro)

  • Features guest vocals from Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Marc Almond (Soft Cell), Cosey Fanni Tutti (Throbbing Gristle), Clodagh Simonds, and Shirley Collins (a figure in the early-'60s folk revival in Britain).

6. Song: Bog , Artist: Nursing Home , Album: Everyday Is Halloween (Self-Released)
7. Song: Inmost Light , Artist: Double Leopards , Album: A Hole Is True (Troubleman Unlimited)
8. Song: Untitled , Artist: 16 Bitch Pile Up , Album: Bury Me Deep (Troniks)
9. Song: Dead Planet , Artist: Nursing Home , Album: God Bless America!!! (Self-Released)
10. Song: Forgotten Depths of Nowhere , Artist: Xasthur , Album: Nocturnal Poisoning (Blood Fire Death)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #26 2007-7-21

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Monday, July 16, 2007

Episode #25 - Abduction

1. Song: Takemitsu Unholy , Artist: Lasse Marhaug , Album: Ikebana: Merzbow's Amlux Rebuilt, Reused and Recycled (Important)
2. Song: Giddiness Throne , Artist: Boris , Album: Dronevil: Final (Inoxia)
3. Song: SGNL>01 , Artist: Isis , Album: Celestial (Escape Artist)
4. Song: Mitternachtsmesse I , Artist: Peter Frohmader , Album: Musik Aus Dem Schattenreich
  • Ambient electronic music that sounds like it could be the soundtrack to a John Carpenter flick (the album name translates to "Music from the Darkness"). German composer Peter Frohmader has also worked with German krautrock/progressive rock bands Amon Düül, Embryo, and Emtidi, and has also collaborated with Russian composer Artemiy Artemiev and guitarist Richard Pinhas of the French band Heldon.

5. Song: The Future For Less , Artist: Les Geores Leningrad , Album: Sangue Puro (Tomlab)
6. Song: SGNL>03 , Artist: Isis , Album: Celestial (Escape Artist)
7. Song: Dreaming Is a Form of Astrotravel , Artist: Alec Empire , Album: Hypermodern Jazz 2000.5 (Mille Plateaux)
8. Song: Untitled , Artist: 16 Bitch Pile Up , Album: Bury Me Deep (Troniks)
9. Song: Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) , Artist: Nancy Sinatra , Album: Kill Bill, Vol. 1 Original Soundtrack (Maverick)
10. Song: SGNL>04 (End Transmission) , Artist: Isis , Album: Celestial (Escape Artist)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #25 2007-7-14

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 12, 2007

Episode #24 - It's All Just a Dream

1. Song: Outro , Artist: UNKLE , Album: Psyence Fiction (Mo' Wax)
2. Song: Heartbeat That Isn't There , Artist: Alec Empire , Album: The Destroyer (Digital Hardcore)
3. Song: River of Transfiguration , Artist: Six Organs of Admittance , Album: Sun Awakens (Drag City)
4. Song: Riverdeadbank , Artist: Current 93 , Album: Thunder Perfect Mind (Durtro)
5. Song: All That We Can See , Artist: Sholi , Album: All That We Can See / The Pinky Ring (KDVS Recordings)
  • Split 7" with The Dead Science on KDVS Recordings, the record label of UC-Davis' non-commercial freeform station KDVS 90.3 FM.

6. Song: A Walk Beyond Utter Blackness , Artist: Xasthur , Album: Nocturnal Poisoning (Blood Fire Death)
7. Song: Make a Change , Artist: Tricky , Album: Nearly God (Island)
8. Song: Arnold , Artist: Clint Mansell & The Kronos Quartet , Album: Requiem For a Dream Soundtrack (Elektra/Asylum)
9. Song: Try To Sleep , Artist: It's a Fucking Trap , Album: Die or Be Died
10. Song: SGNL>05 (Final Transmission) , Artist: Isis , Album: SGNL>05 (Neurot)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #24 2007-7-7

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Monday, July 2, 2007

Episode #23 - Dead Alive

1. Song: Catasstasteatrophy , Artist: White Mice , Album: BLasssTPhlEgMEICE (Load)
2. Song: Untitled , Artist: 16 Bitch Pile Up , Album: Bury Me Deep (Troniks)
  • First off, love the cover art - a throwback to '70s slasher flicks ("The beaches were covered in blood......and so were the bitches!"). This plays like a murkier version of Nurse With Wound's Homotopy to Marie, but with a little more variety in the sense that it's not as cohesive. There's tons of stuff just lurking below the surface, which gives me the feeling that this is one of those albums where you discover something else on each listen. This is the second track ("The Dead Boy Would Not Go Away"(?)), eighteen minutes of somewhat soothing drone.

3. Song: The Death Mask , Artist: JM Ginsberg , Album: Everyday Is Halloween (Self-Released)

  • Creepy children's voices at the end of this track remind me of Tales from the Crypt.

4. Song: Don't Worry Baby , Artist: The Beach Boys , Album: Endless Summer (Capitol)
5. Song: 13465 , Artist: Alec Empire , Album: Generation Star Wars (Mille Plateaux)
6. Song: Washer , Artist: Slint , Album: Spiderland (Touch & Go)
7. Song: Morningside , Artist: Husere Grav , Album: Everyday Is Halloween (Self-Released)
8. Song: Revolution 9 , Artist: The Beatles , Album: The Beatles (Capitol)
9. Song: A Kiss To Build a Dream On , Artist: Louis Armstrong , Album: A Kiss To Build a Dream On (Delta)

  • Added by request.

10. Song: Untitled , Artist: 16 Bitch Pile Up , Album: Bury Me Deep (Troniks)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #23 2007-6-30

Labels: , , , , , , , ,