Saturday, October 20, 2007

Episode #39 - Mangled Beyond Recognition

1. Song: Intro , Artist: Nursing Home , Album: God Bless America!!! (Self-Released)
2. Song: The Mangling of Tasmanian Wolves , Artist: Wolfmangler , Album: The Invisible Pyramid: Elegy Box (Last Visible Dog)
3. Song: Báthory Erzsébet , Artist: Sunn O))) , Album: Black One (Southern Lord)
  • The name for this song comes from Hungary's most infamous serial killer, Countess Erzsébet Báthory, who was accussed of torturing and killing dozens of girls and young women during the 16th and 17th centuries. She allegedly bathed in the blood of her victims in an attempt to retain her youth.

4. Song: Eletronic , Artist: Botch , Album: We Are the Romans (Hydra Head)

  • Hidden electronic track at the End of We Are the Romans.

5. Song: Suicide , Artist: Alec Empire , Album: The Destroyer (Digital Hardcore)
6. Song: Black Gun Red , Artist: Kim Cascone , Album: Ikebana: Merzbow's Amlux Rebuilt, Reused and Recycled (Important)
7. Song: Black Market , Artist: Snatch , Album: New York Noise, Vol. 3: Music from the New York Underground 1979-1984 (Soul Jazz)
8. Song: My Teacher , Artist: A-Frames , Album: Black Forest (Sub Pop)
9. Song: Robot Chant , Artist: Mogwai , Album: Rock Action (Matador)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #39 2007-10-20

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, October 14, 2007

Episode #38 - Sinners Repent

1. Song: Sin Nanna , Artist: Sunn O))) , Album: Black One (Southern Lord)
2. Song: Cuora Yuannanensis , Artist: Andrea Belfi & Stefano Pillia , Album: The Invisible Pyramid: Elegy Box (Last Visible Dog)
3. Song: East Hastings: Nothing's Alrite in Our Life/Deadflagblues - (Reprise)/ The Sad Mafioso/Drugs in Tokyo/Black Helicopter , Artist: Godspeed You Black Emperor! , Album: F#A#∞ (Kranky)
4. Song: Teeth of Lions Rule The Divine (Mogwai) , Artist: Earth , Album: Legacy of Dissolution (No Quarter)
  • Essentially an Earth "remixed" album, but nonetheless interesting stuff. Five tracks in total, with the other contributions coming from Russell Haswell, Jim O'Rourke, Autechre, Justin Broadrick (Jesu, Final, Napalm Death, Godflesh), and Sunn O))) (who do a really evil version of "Rule the Divine (Mysteria Caelestis Mugivi) ").

5. Song: Shadows of War , Artist: German Oak , Album: German Oak (Bunker)
6. Song: Some Might Even Die... , Artist: Alec Empire / Merzbow , Album: Alec Empire Vs. Merzbow: Live CBGB's NYC 1998 (Digital Hardcore)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #38 2007-10-13

Labels: , , , , ,

Friday, October 5, 2007

Episode #37 - Darkness Eternal

1. Song: What a Horrible Night for a Curse , Artist: The Black Dahlia Murder , Album: Nocturnal (Metal Blade)
2. Song: Air Nozzles and Echoes Reset Live , Artist: Agata , Album: Spike (Tzadik)
3. Song: - , Artist: Nurse With Wound , Album: Chance Meeting On a Dissecting Table of a Sewing Machine and an Umbrella (United Diaries)
4. Song: La Booly Boo , Artist: Eric Copeland , Album: Hermaphrodite (Paw Tracks)
  • The newest album from Eric Copeland (Black Dice, Terrestrial Tones) sounds like a mix between Terrestrial Tones' Dead Drunk, Animal Collective's poppier material (think Peacebone EP), and Black Dice's stuff just as they were transitioning from their hardcore roots into more avant territory (Miles of Smiles, Creature Comforts). This is one of the more drone-oriented tracks.

5. Song: Digital Hardcore , Artist: Alec Empire , Album: Ikebana: Merzbow's Amlux Rebuilt, Reused and Recycled (Important)
6. Song: Gd_Chck , Artist: Error , Album: Unknown
7. Song: Untitled , Artist: 16 Bitch Pile Up , Album: Bury Me Deep (Troniks)

  • This is the first cut off this interesting concept(?) album.

8. Song: - , Artist: Hair Police , Album: Drawn Dead (Hanson)

  • Another scuzzy untitled drone cut, this one the third track on Drawn Dead.

9. Song: Not Here / Not Now , Artist: Angels of Light , Album: We Are Him (Young God)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #37 2007-10-6

Labels: , , , , , , , ,