Monday, April 30, 2007

Episode #14 - Careful What You Wish For

1. Song: A Celebration for the Death of Man... , Artist: Agalloch , Album: The Mantle (The End)
2. Song: Cossacks Are , Artist: Scott Walker , Album: The Drift (4AD)
3. Song: Providence: Divorce and Fever/Dead Metheny/Kicking Horse on Brokenhill/String Loop Manufactured During Downpour , Artist: Godspeed You Black Emperor! , Album: F#A#∞ (Kranky)
4. Song: Type Tactical , Artist: Made , Album: All Tomorrow's Parties 3.0: Autechre Curated (ATP)
  • Double-disc compilation also featuring tracks from Autechre, Pita, Jim O'Rourke, Baby Ford, Hecker, Public Enemy and others.

5. Song: Three Ring Inferno Mix (Vidna Obmana) , Artist: Agoraphobic Nosebleed , Album: PCP Tornado / ANbRX (Hydra Head)

  • Reissue of the classic ANB album PCP Tornado with an extra disc of remixes and reinterprations from the likes of Merzbow, James Plotkin (Khanate), Justin Broadrick (Napalm Death, Final, Jesu), Jansky Noise, DJ Speedranch, and others.

6. Song: Master of Alchemy: House of Whipcord / The Black Drug , Artist: Electric Wizard , Album: Let Us Prey (Music Cartel)
7. Song: We Have Reached an Official Verdict: Nobody Gives a Shit , Artist: The Locust , Album: New Erections (Anti)
8. Song: Unchained Melody , Artist: The Righteous Brothers , Album: Unchained Melody (Curb)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #14 2007-4-28

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Friday, April 20, 2007

Episode #13 - Fallout

1. Song: Bushwick , Artist: Carlos Giffoni , Album: Welcome Home (Important)
2. Song: A Necessary Mutilation , Artist: Leviathan , Album: Tentacles of Whorror (Moribund)
3. Song: Like a Drug (Sha La La) , Artist: Swans , Album: Children of God (Caroline)
4. Song: Reduction , Artist: Sightings , Album: Absolutes (Load)
5. Song: Svelte , Artist: Pedestrian Deposit , Album: Fatale (Hanson)
6. Song: Rundgang Um Die Transzendentale Saule Der Singularitat , Artist: Burzum , Album: Filosofem (Feral House)
  • Solo Norwegian black metal project of Varg Vikernes (born Kristian Vikernes), who originally used the psuedonym Count Grishnackh. Most notorious for the murder of his former bandmate in Mayhem, Øystein Aarseth (known by his stage name Euronymous), and the arson of several ancient Norwegian churches, both of which he is currently in prison for.

7. Song: Duel In the Deep , Artist: Lightning Bolt , Album: Wonderful Rainbow (Load)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #13 2007-4-21

Labels: , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 15, 2007

Episode #12 - The Stranger

1. Song: Fifteen Minutes to Fairvale , Artist: Forcefedglass , Album: Songs of the Dead II: Idle Hands (And Here My Troubles Began)
  • Sample in this track is from Norman Bates in Psycho, a great bit of dialogue. Track name also references the name of the town (Fairvale) in the movie.

2. Song: Aumgm , Artist: Can , Album: Tago Mago (Mute)
3. Song: What's He Building In There? , Artist: Tom Waits , Album: Mule Variations (Anti/Epitaph)
4. Song: Sangue Puro , Artist: Les Georges Leningrad , Album: Sangue Puro (Tomlab)
5. Song: Babylon 90210 , Artist: Christoph de Babalon , Album: Love Under Will (Fischkopf Hamburg)
6. Song: Relevee (Baby Ford Remix) (Mix) , Artist: Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom , Album: Relevee Remix (Astralwerks)
7. Song: She Creatures , Artist: Implog , Album: New York Noise, Vol. 3: Music From the New York Underground 1979-1984 (Soul Jazz)

  • Third installment of the New York Noise series focuses on early electronica/minimal synth stuff (think influences on today's darkwave bands, i.e. The Knife). Not sure where'd I'd rank this in terms of the other entries in the series, but probably in a tie for first with New York Noise, Vol. 1. Also features James Blood Ulmer, Martin Rev (Suicide), and Boris Policeband, among others.

8. Song: Jeepers Creepers , Artist: Billie Holliday , Album: Billie Holiday: The Legacy Box 1933-1958 (Columbia)

  • Plays at the end of the movie with the same name ("Jeepers creepers / Where'd you get those peepers?").

9. Song: Botch Up and Die , Artist: Drumcorps , Album: Grist (Cock Rock Disco)
10. Song: N.Y. Flat Top Box , Artist: John Zorn , Album: Naked City (Elektra/Nonesuch)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #12 2007-4-14

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, April 7, 2007

Episode #11 - Escape

1. Song: Etna , Artist: Sunn O))) & Boris , Album: Altar (Southern Lord)
  • Vinyl version of this comes with an extra track, "Her Lips Were Wet With Venom [Satan Oscillate My Metallic Sonatas], not to mention a 16-page color booklet and liner notes from Kim Thayil (Soundgarden).

2. Song: Jesse , Artist: Scott Walker, Album: The Drift (4AD)

  • This is really scary stuff, a combination of baroque pop and what Roy Orbison would sound like if he were from the 7th level of Hell. Totally different stuff from his early career and his material on The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou soundtrack. Can't wait for the documentary chronicling his career, 30th Century Man (which is currently only screening in the U.K.), to hit stateside at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York. Features a behind-the-scenes look at the making of The Drift, as well as interviews with Brian Eno, Jarvis Cocker, Radiohead, Damon Albarn (Blur, Gorillaz), David Bowie, Sting, and more.

3. Song: Analogue Skillet , Artist: Jackie-O-Motherfucker , Album: Fig. 5 (Road Cone)
4. Song: Gekihatsu , Artist: Never Presence Forever , Album: Merzbow - Frog: Remixed and Revisited (Misanthropic Agenda)
5. Song: With CB , Artist: Zipperspy , Album: Ikebana: Merzbow's Amlux Rebuilt, Reused and Recycled (Important)
6. Song: Hungry Homeless Handjob , Artist: Agoraphobic Nosebleed , Album: Frozen Corpse Stuffed With Dope (Relapse)
7. Song: Time As Surrogate Religion , Artist: Buried Inside , Album: Chronoclast: Selected Essays on Times Reckoning and Auto-Cannibalism (Relapse)
8. Song: Sunshine the Werewolf , Artist: Dillinger Escape Plan , Album: Miss Machine (Relapse)
9. Song: That's Not Blood , Artist: Hair Police , Album: Blow Out Your Blood (Freedom From)
10. Song: Cupid Shot Me , Artist: Noxagt , Album: Turning It Down Since 2001 (Load)
11. Song: I Want to Marry a Lighthouse Keeper , Artist: Erika Eigen , Album: A Clockwork Orange (Warner Bros.)
12. Song: Super 16 , Artist: Neu! , Album: Neu! 2 (Astralwerks)

  • Shortened version of this is available on the Kill Bill Vol. 1 soundtrack.

13. Song: At the Heart of It All (Created by Aphex Twin) , Artist: Aphex Twin , Album: 26 Mixes for Cash (Warp)
14. Song: Pyramid of Skulls , Artist: Xasthur , Album: Subliminal Genocide (Hydra Head)
15. Song: Amphibia Salientia , Artist: Hrvatski , Album: Merzbow - Frog: Remixed and Revisited (Misanthropic Agenda)
16. Song: Folded Space - Lead Poisoning & Distortion , Artist: Combatwoundedveteran , Album: I Know a Girl Who Develops Crime Scene Photos (No Idea)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #11 2007-4-7

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,