Saturday, February 10, 2007

Episode #3 - Eightysixed

1. Song: De Vrachtwagen 1 , Artist: Flat Earth Society , Album: Isms (Ipecac)
  • Belgian progressive big band formed from the ashes of fellow Belgians X-Legged Sally and Fukkeduk. Isms is actually a compilation of tracks from four prior releases, and also features a homage to the Birthday Party in the form of "(Little) King Ink".
2. Song: Woofer Wrecker , Artist: Kid 606 , Album: Kill Sound Before Sound Kills You (Ipecac)
3. Song: Dark Side of the Pink Frog , Artist: When , Album: Merzbow - Frog: Remixed And Revisited (Misanthropic Agenda)
  • From a double CD compilation also featuring Boris, Sunn O))), Fennesz, [Tim] Hecker, Russell Haswell, John Wiese (see below), Gerritt (see Episode #2; also runs the Misanthropic Agenda label), House of Low Culture (a side project of Isis), Merzbow, and others that reworks Merzbow's 2001 album Frog.
4. Song: Well I'll Be a Monkey's Uncle (Christoph de Babalon Remix) , Artist: The Locust , Album: Well I'll Be a Monkey's Uncle (Gold Standard Laboratories)
  • Part of the Lab Remixes series, which also includes The Convocation Of and a !!!/Out Hud split. Features reinterpretations of "Well I'll Be a Monkey's Uncle", from The Locust's 1999 self-titled release whose cover art parodies Queen. Bastard Noise (member John Wiese reared his head in Episode #1 with "Batman Dracula"), Wizards of War, Sinking Body (Neil Burke of Born Against and Men's Recovery Project fame), Kid 606, and I Am Spoonbender also contribute.

5. Song: Hamburger Lady , Artist: Throbbing Gristle , Album: D.O.A.: The Third and Final Report of Throbbing Gristle (Mute)
6. Song: Frankie Teardrop , Artist: Suicide , Album: Suicide [First Album] (Bronze)

  • ILX pitts these two tracks against each other in their forums, but they're both classics. As far as scares go, "Frankie Teardrop", a tragic tale of a disenfranchised Vietnam vet, goes the surprise route, while "Hamburger Lady" - based off a true story about a burn unit victim in Portland, Oregon - lurches along (best line: "She is burned from the waist up/...She's burned from the waist down"). Originally on TG's own Industrial Records (yes, they coined the term), D.O.A. got the Mute reissue treatment in 1993. After breaking up, TG members went on to Psychic TV (Genesis P-Orridge), Coil (Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson), and Chris & Cosey (Cosey Fanni Tutti & Chris Carter), although an album of new material slated for an early 2006 release on Mute still hasn't seen the light of day.

7. Song: Walls of Sound , Artist: Throbbing Gristle , Album: D.O.A.: The Third and Final Report of Throbbing Gristle (Mute)
8. Song: Ripe (With Decay) , Artist: Nine Inch Nails , Album: The Fragile (Nothing / Interscope)
9. Song: Brains Out , Artist: Error , Album: Error (Epitaph)

  • Members of Error include Brett Gurewitz of Bad Religion and Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato, among others. This EP also features a cover of 999's "Homicide".

10. Song: Bride of Frankenstein , Artist: Quintron , Album: The Frog Tape (Skin Graft / Rhinestone)
11. Song: The Final Chapter (In Which the Town Bares Its Teeth) , Artist: The Death of a Party , Album: The Shame of the Sweet (Double Negative)
12. Song: Black Vomit , Artist: Wolf Eyes , Album: Black Vomit (Sub Pop)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #3 2007-2-10

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home