Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Episode #44 - Blackout

1. Song: In the Court of the Bear King , Artist: An Albatross , Album: Blessphemy (of the Peace-Beast Feastgiver and the Bear Warp Kumite) (Ace Fu)
2. Song: (Love is Like a) Heat Wave , Artist: Martha Reeves & the Vandellas , Album: Heat Wave (Gordy)
3. Song: Gaea , Artist: Jacob Kirkegaard , Album: Eldfjall (Touch UK)
  • An album of field recordings from 2004, during which contact mics were shoved into the ground (geysers, volcanoes, etc.) of Iceland. Pretty interesting stuff.

4. Song: Arrived In Gold, Arrived In Smoke , Artist: Sightings , Album: Arrived In Gold (Load)
5. Song: Buzzers , Artist: Scott Walker , Album: The Drift (4AD)

  • This album always manages to scare the shit out of me.

6. Song: O. Henry , Artist: Arab On Radar , Album: The Stolen Singles (Three One G)

  • Compilation album featuring three cassette-only tracks, cuts from their split 7"s with The Locust and Kid Commando (as well as two of their own 7"s), and their material from the You're Soaking In It and RePopulation Program comps on Load Records.

7. Song: Shadow , Artist: Neurosis , Album: Given to the Rising (Neurot)
8. Song: Moon Spell , Artist: Nursing Home , Album: God Bless America!!! (Self-Released)
9. Song: Reduction , Artist: Sightings , Album: Absolutes (Load)
10. Song: Coda Masestoso In F(Flat) Minor (Autechre) , Artist: Earth , Album: Legacy of Dissolution (No Quarter)

  • Autechre cover with a killer guitar solo. Best track on the album in my opinion.

11. Song: Medicine , Artist: Jesu , Album: Conqueror (Hydra Head)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #44 2007-11-24

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, November 16, 2007

Episode #43 - Hell On Earth

1. Song: Bouncer See Bouncer... , Artist: Scott Walker , Album: Tilt (Drag City)
2. Song: Orakulum , Artist: Sunn O))) , Album: Oracle (Southern Lord)
3. Song: Love, Hate (Slugbaiting) , Artist: Godflesh , Album: Pure (Earache)
4. Song: - , Artist: Cephalic Carnage , Album: Xenosapien (Relapse)
5. Song: Fear and Sickness , Artist: Neurosis , Album: Given to the Rising (Neurot)
6. Song: Bela Lugosi's Dead , Artist: Nouvelle Vague , Album: Bande a Part (Justin Time)
  • Cover of Bauhaus. This album is all covers, in fact, and also features versions of "The Killing Moon" (Echo & the Bunnymen), "Dancing With Myself"(Billy Idol), "Heart of Glass" (Blondie), and "Human Fly" (The Cramps), among others.

7. Song: Unanswered , Artist: Suicide Silence , Album: The Cleansing (Century Media)
8. Song: White Chalk , Artist: PJ Harvey , Album: White Chalk (Island)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #43 2007-11-17

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Friday, November 9, 2007

Episode #42 - Buried Alive

1. Song: Revelations (Intro) , Artist: Suicide Silence , Album: The Cleansing (Century Media)
2. Song: Warborn , Artist: The Black Dahlia Murder , Album: Nocturnal (Metal Blade)
3. Song: Belülről Pusztít , Artist: Sunn O))) , Album: Oracle (Southern Lord)
  • Hungarian for "destroys from the inside", "Belülről Pusztít" is from the Oracle EP, which was sold during the band's 2007 Pacific Rim tour and on the Southern Lord West Coast 777 tour. Joe Preston (Earth, Melvins, Thrones) provides the jackhammer (yes, jackhammer) on this track, although it sounds more like a drawbridge being raised and lowered, or someone being stretched out on a rack, which, coupled with the awesome album art, fits the mood of the track perfectly. These guys never cease to amaze me. The other track on the disc (the version sold at shows has an extra disc with a 45-minute live track from 2005 called "HeliO)))Sophist"), "Orakulum" is not as good but still killer.

4. Song: Dissolution III (Oversaturated Intervallic Collisions) , Artist: Earth , Album: All Tomorrow's Parties 3.0: Autechre Curated (ATP)
5. Song: Terry Shiva , Artist: Mudboy , Album: The Invisible Pyramid: Elegy Box (Last Visible Dog)
6. Song: Samskeyti [Live] , Artist: Sigur Rós , Album: Hvarf / Heim (XL)
7. Song: The Opera Song , Artist: Botch , Album: Unifying Themes Redux (Excursion)

  • Compilation album of songs from Botch's The Unifying Themes of Sex, Death, and Religion, as well as tracks from the John Birch Conspiracy Theory and Faction 7"s, as well as other rarities (including a cover of The B-52's' "Rock Lobster". Reissued in 2006 with an alternate cover on Hydra Head.

8. Song: Frog Remix , Artist: John Wiese , Album: Merzbow - Frog: Remixed and Revisited (Misanthropic Agenda)
9. Song: Origin , Artist: Neurosis , Album: Given to the Rising (Neurot)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #42 2007-11-10

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Episode #41 - Hopeless

1. Song: Spaim , Artist: Botch , Album: An Anthology of Dead Ends (Hydra Head)
2. Song: Torching Koraviev , Artist: Khanate , Album: Khanate (Southern Lord)
3. Song: The Sixth Extinction Crept Up Slowly, Like Sunlight Through the Shutters, As We Looked Back In Regret , Artist: Red Sparowes , Album: At the Soundless Dawn (Neurot)
4. Song: I'm On Fire , Artist: Mugison , Album: Lonely Mountain (Lifelike)
5. Song: Uneaten Stars Duo , Artist: Birchville Cat Motel , Album: The Invisible Pyramid: Elegy Box (Last Visible Dog)
6. Song: This Weekend Wow , Artist: Terrestrial Tones , Album: Dead Drunk (Paw Tracks)
7. Song: 7-11 , Artist: Kill Me Tomorrow , Album: The Garbageman and the Prostitute (Gold Standard Laboratories)
8. Song: Holland Tunnel Drive , Artist: Implog , Album: New York Noise, Vol. 3: Music From the New York Underground 1979-1984 (Soul Jazz)
9. Song: Untitled , Artist: John Wiese , Album: Ikebana: Merzbow's Amlux Rebuilt, Reused and Recycled (Important)
10. Song: Tin Pie , Artist: Gogogo Airheart , Album: Rats! Sing! Sing! (Gold Standard Laboratories)
11. Song: Reckoner , Artist: Radiohead , Album: In Rainbows (Self-Released)
  • One of my fav tracks off this album, which sounds like a mix between OK Computer and Hail to the Thief.

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #41 2007-11-3

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, November 2, 2007

Episode #40 - Storm of the Century

1. Song: Endless Cycle of Violence , Artist: Cephalic Carnage , Album: Xenosapien (Relapse)
2. Song: I'm Too Sleepy...Shall We Swim? , Artist: Belong , Album: October Language (Carpark)
3. Song: Catchpool 01 , Artist: Seht , Album: The Invisible Pyramid: Elegy Box (Last Visible Dog)
4. Song: Put the Time Machine In Your Mouth Pt. I , Artist: Kill Me Tomorrow , Album: Skin's Getting Weird (Gold Standard Laboratories)

5. Song: Capture , Artist: Khanate , Album: Capture & Release (Hydra Head)
6. Song: Glasgow Mega-Snake , Artist: Mogwai , Album: Mr. Beast (Matador)

LINK: Sounds of the Apocalypse Episode #40 2007-10-27

Labels: , , , , ,